Union Men Wins AAC Championship; Axford AAC Women's Swimmer of Year

KINGSPORT, Tenn. – The Union College men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams concluded the Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) Championship on Saturday. The men won the meet with a first-place finish and a team score of 691, while the women finished fifth sporting a score of 332.

The three-day event was host by Visit Kingsport at the Kingsport Aquatic Center Kingsport Aquatic Center in the HMG Competition Pool in Kingsport, Tenn.

For the men, the team of Grant Davies, Henrique Saraceni, Lucas Mourao, and Wiktor Perkowski set another new record as the team finished with a time of 3:09.27 in the 400 freestyle relay.

For the men’s team, head coach Rafael Forti was awarded AAC Coach of the Year, his first since the conference began sponsoring swimming & diving in 2016-17.

On the women’s side, Jessica Axford was named the AAC Swimmer of the Year after tallying a total of 60 points and setting three meet records.


Davies earned gold in 100 freestyle, with a 47.53 finish.
Andrew Smith finished with a third-place finish in the 200 backstroke hitting the wall with a time of 1:58.99.
Saraceni collected a second place finish in the 200 breaststroke supporting a time of 2:06.51.
Perkowski earned a second-place finish in the 200 butterfly (1:55.49).


Victoria Carta collected her first-place finish of the meet supporting a time of 18.24.80 in the 1650 freestyle.
Axford broke her own record in the 100 freestyle with a new time of 51.76 for a first-place finish.


The Bulldogs will take some time off before competing in the 2019 NAIA Swimming and Diving National Championship. Nationals are held in Columbia, Ga., on Feb. 27 – March 2.