Several eastern Kentucky athletes to be inducted into Kentucky High School Basketball HOF Saturday

(WYMT) - Multiple eastern Kentucky athletes will be inducted into the Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame this weekend.

The 2019 Hall of Fame class was announced earlier this year.

Harlan's Charles Thomas (1991-95), Breathitt County's Irene Moore 1974-1978), and Sheldon Clark's Robin Harmon-Newsome (1974-78) represent eastern Kentucky in this year's class.

"I just think it's a blessing and an honor to be part of this 2019 Class," Thomas said following the announcement of the class in May. "All the greats and legends of the game, just to be part of that history, it's just awesome. I think it's pretty cool."

Newsome also feels honored by the achievement and is proud to represent her school.

"It's all the hard work that you put in. Growing up, all the practice time, all the time that was spent with your teammate," Newsome said Wednesday. "It's not just an honor for me but it's an honor for all the players I played with in high school."

The ceremony will take place this Saturday at 2 p.m. at the Historic State Theater in Elizabethtown.

Here is the full list of inductees for the 2019 class:

Scott Draud, Highlands guard (1983-86)
William Falls, Hopkinsville Attucks coach (1935-67)
Nell Fookes, Boone Co. coach (1985-2015)
Robin Harmon, Sheldon Clark guard (1974-78)
Charles Hurt, Shelby Co. forward (1976-79)
Rick Jones, Scott Co. guard (1996-99)
Steve Miller, Henry Clay forward (1981-84)
Sammy Moore, Central forward (1949-52)
Doug Schloemer, Holmes forward (1975-78)
Irene Moore Strong, Breathitt Co. guard (1974-78)
Charles Thomas, Harlan forward (1991-1995)
Curtis Turley, Henderson Co. coach (1976-2008)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus