Delacruz named MSC Player of the Year; Layhew, Gaona earn All-MSC nods

(Photo: UPIKE Athletics)

PIKEVILLE, Ky. -- The night before Mid-South Conference Men’s Basketball Tournament action is set to begin, three UPIKE players took home some conference hardware.

Senior Jayvian Delacruz was named the Mid-South’s Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring. He’s the second consecutive and fifth UPIKE player in the last seven years to earn the award. He also was named to the First Team All-MSC.

Delacruz averaged 21.1 points per game this season, more than 1.5 more than the next highest competitor. He also was fourth in field goal percentage (.562) and 3-point field goal percentage (.442).

Joining Delacruz on the First Team All-MSC squad was junior Luke Layhew who averaged 14.7 points and 7.0 rebounds per game in league play this season. In late January and early February, Layhew had back-to-back games of 25 or more points with 18 rebounds.

Junior Xaviar Gaona was named to the Second Team All-MSC. Gaona was a 3-point spark plug for the Bears this season, making 46 percent of his shots from long distance, the third-highest mark in the MSC.

UPIKE’s time in the 2019 MSC Tournament begins Saturday afternoon when the Bears take on Shawnee State. Tip-off is scheduled for 2 p.m. at the East Kentucky Expo Center.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus