Calipari selected to ad-hoc committee on NCAA selection process

Published: Jun. 13, 2016 at 3:29 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Weeks after Kentucky Athletic Director Mitch Barnhart was selected as a member of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee, men’s basketball head coach John Calipari was chosen by the National Association of Basketball Coaches for an ad hoc committee on the tournament selection, seeding and bracketing.

Calipari will represent the Southeastern Conference on the committee that includes head coaches representing all levels of Division I, NCAA and NABC staff. NABC Executive Director Jim Haney and former SEC Commissioner Mike Slive are co-chairs.

“I appreciate this opportunity to be on the ad hoc committee, whose mission is to give suggestions to the selection committee,” Calipari said. “We all understand it’s an inexact science and our suggestions won’t make it perfect, we just want it to be better and more transparent for the players so that they know what they’re playing for. I look forward to working with all the other coaches and administrators.”

The ad hoc committee is slated to meet several times and resulting feedback will be presented to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee prior to its summer meeting.

This is the third ad hoc committee established by the NABC. The first worked with the NCAA and NBA to adjust rules for student-athletes declaring for the draft and lengthening the time to return to school after the NBA Combine. The second committee analyzed the time demands on men’s basketball and presented recommendations to the NCAA.

For the latest on the Kentucky men's basketball team, follow @KentuckyMBB on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, and on the web at

AD Hoc Committee Head Coaches:

John Calipari, University of Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)

Bill Coen, Northeastern University (Colonial Athletic Association)

Mark Few, Gonzaga University (West Coast Conference)

Steve Fisher, San Diego State University (Mountain West Conference)

Mark Gottfried, North Carolina State University (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Bob Huggins, West Virginia University (Big 12 Conference)

Ron Hunter, Georgia State University (Sun Belt Conference)

James Jones, Yale University (Ivy League)

Jeff Jones, Old Dominion University (Conference USA)

Phil Martelli, Saint Joseph’s University (Atlantic 10 Confernece)

John Thompson III, Georgetown University (Big East Conference)

Mark Turgeon, University of Maryland (Big Ten Conference)

Gary Waters, Cleveland State University (Horizon League)


Doug Elgin, Commissioner (Missouri Valley Conference)

Dan Guerrero, Director of Athletics-UCLA (PAC-12)


Dan Gavitt, Vice President for Men’s Basketball (NCAA)

Reggie Minton, Deputy Executive Director (NABC)