13th Region announces inaugural Hall of Fame Class

By  | 

CORBIN, Ky. (WYMT) - The 13th Region had their inaugural induction for the 13th Region Hall of Fame on the boys side. There were a number of memorable 13th Region figures inducted, including Richie Farmer, John D. Wilson, Wah Wah Jones and Bobby Keith.

"A lot of these folks that got plaques tonight, it is people that I watched and people that I grew up hearing about, to be in that inaugural class with the history of the 13th region and all of the great players and coaches who have been a part of it, it's really an honor and means a great deal to me," Richie Farmer, the Clay County and University of Kentucky legend said.

Here is the full list of inductees on the boys side:


Wah Wah Jones — Harlan

Phil Cox — Cawood

Charles Thomas — Harlan

Larry Pursiful – Lone Jack, Bell County

Richie Farmer — Clay County

Nick Sanford — Cawood

Lawrence Buell — Middlesboro

Frank Selvy — Corbin

Tony Pietrowski — Corbin

Terry Mills — Knox Central

Rodney Woods — Lone Jack

Ray Mills — Clay County

Fred Bishop — Pineville

Bobby McWIlliams — Barbourville

Larry Gritton Jr. — Oneida Baptist


Bobby Keith — Clay County

Joe Gilley — Harlan

Mike Jones — Cawood, Jackson County, Harlan, Harlan County

Billy Hicks — Evarts, Harlan, Corbin

John D. Wilson — Cawood, Red Bird

Dinky Phipps — Barbourville, Lynn Camp

Harold Combs — Bell County

J.D. Strange — Bell County, Knox Central, Pineville

Nick Denes — Corbin

Don Bingham — Knox Central


Luther Blanton — Harlan County

David Thompson — Pineville

Stanley Abner — Clay County

Ray Canady — Knox Central

Gerty Stewart — Barbourville

Scott Smith — North Laurel

Paul Pietrowski — Corbin

Glenn Proffitt — South Laurel

Glenn Peace — Bell County

Troy Martin — North Laurel/South Laurel

Sheb Stewart — Bell County

Neil Warren — London and Corbin

Keith Gabbard — Jackson County


Les Dixon — The Times Tribune

John Henson — Harlan Daily Enterprise

Stan Lovett — Williamsburg radio

Kim Mays — Knox Central

Sarah Elliott — Jackson County

Shea Lunsford — Jackson County

Vonda Jackson — Clay County

Debbie Hoskins Green — Harlan

Lori Kluck — Cumberland

Tiffany Hamm — Harlan

Kim Jones — Clay County

Jaree Goodin — Corbin

Beth Bates — Williamsburg

Heather Taylor — Whitley County


Donnie Gray — Clay County

John Bond — Cumberland

Jim Rains — Whitley County

Willard Farris — Corbin

E.R. “Doc” Gray — Harlan

Greg Parrett — Jackson County

Larry Anderson — Williamsburg, Whitley County


Stan Lovett — Williamsburg

Troy Martin — North Laurel and South Laurel

Glenn Profitt — Lowe’s Sporting Goods, BSN

Scott Smith — Shiloh’s Roadhous, Steak ’N Shake

Neil Warren — Bojangles, Powerhouse Gym

Ted Cook — Cook Tire

The girls inaugural class will receive their honors on Monday, March 4th at halftime of the Girls' 13th Region championship.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus