Local water districts ordered to submit information on losses

Published: Mar. 14, 2019 at 1:33 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Kentucky regulators have ordered 12 water utilities to submit information on how water loss is recorded.

The Lexington Herald-Leader reports the move comes as the utilities are losing over one-third of their treated water due to aging and crumbling infrastructure. Some customers have reported problems with quality and reliability.

The order affects 10 water districts, a water association, and a division of one investor-owned utility. Most serve Eastern or Southern Kentucky.

They include Big Sandy Water District; Cawood Water District; Estill County Water District; Farmdale Water District; Hyden-Leslie County Water District; Kentucky American Water Company in Jackson and Rockcastle counties; Milburn Water District; Morgan County Water District; North Manchester Water Association, Inc.; Rattlesnake Ridge Water District; Southern Water and Sewer District; and the West Carroll Water District.


Information from: Lexington Herald-Leader,

Latest News

Latest News