FRANKFORT, Ky. (WYMT/WKYT) - Governor Matt Bevin signed the permitless conceal carry bill into law Monday. Senate Bill 150 allows anyone over 21 and legally able to carry a gun to conceal without a permit.
Photo: Alien Gear Holsters / Facebook (MGN)
Sister station WKYT reports that the new law, which goes into effect on June 26th, may cost Kentucky sheriff's offices.
The bill, backed by the National Rifle Association (NRA), was opposed by Kentucky's Fraternal Order of Police (FOP).
"There was some key components in the conceal carry class with regards to how to interact with law enforcement, as well as some other training aspect that we would encourage everyone to train," said Drew Fox with the FOP. "If you're going to use a firearm or carry a firearm we would encourage people to train."
While people can still get permits if they want to or plan to go out of state, some worry about the financial impact of the new law.
In 2017, Kentucky issues almost 34 thousand new permits and renewed nearly 41,000 permits. Out of the $60 that each permit costs, state police get $40 and local sheriff's offices get $20.
WKYT reports that year state police made almost $3 million from CCDW sales, while sheriff's offices got almost $1.5 million. Those numbers are expected to drop now once the new law goes into effect.