Advertisement

Tennessee ban on holding cell phones while driving begins July 1

A bill allowing law enforcement to ticket drivers seen holding their cell phones in their hands...
A bill allowing law enforcement to ticket drivers seen holding their cell phones in their hands while driving has passed through the Tennessee legislature and is now headed to the governor's desk./ Source: MGN(WVLT)
Published: Jun. 5, 2019 at 3:33 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

A law allowing law enforcement to ticket drivers seen holding their cell phones in their hands while driving will take effect July 1.

The law bans any use of a cell phone held in hand while driving, including hand-held calls, music control and navigation. The law would be an expansion on the current offense for talking on a handheld device while driving in a school zone.

The law allows law enforcement to issue citations for $100, with a possible increase to $200 if a crash is involved.

Exceptions include drivers using the phone for navigation while it is in their cup holder or attached to the vehicle's dash.