22 newly graduated police officers ready to serve Kentucky

By  | 

RICHMOND, Ky (WYMT)- Law enforcement officers from 16 agencies across the state graduated Friday from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training in Richmond.

The 22 officers of Class 470 completed 22 weeks of training, which consisted of 888 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.
The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus.

The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 470 graduates and their agencies are:

Justin R. Baker, Georgetown Police Department
Matthew Buell, Whitesburg Police Department
Ronnie A. Burke, Hazard Police Department
Eric W. Combs, Hazard Police Department
John E. Holbrook, Hazard Police Department
Tyler L. Creech, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Brittany R. Day, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Braxton M. Montgomery, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Jeremy S. Davidson, Hopkinsville Police Department
Steven B. DeBord, Danville Police Department
Paul A. Megilligan, Danville Police Department
Matthew D. Fitzgerald, Daviess County Sheriff’s Office
Michael A. Flanigan, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
Jerrod T. Foley, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
Tyler K. Lynch, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
George T. Pointer, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
Jordan M. Jones, Edmonson County Sheriff’s Office
Gary Jordan, Clay County Sheriff’s Office
Taylor M. Logsdon, Grayson County Sheriff’s Office
Zachary L. Mitchell, Martin Police Department
Christopher J. Pugh, Henderson Police Department
Jeremy H. Rose, Muhlenburg County Sheriff’s Office
Zachary D. Stapleton, Paintsville Police Department
Joseph W. Thomas, Scott County Sheriff’s Office

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus