Pike Countians vote to return to magistrates

Weekday broadcast of WYMT Mountain News at 11
Published: Nov. 7, 2023 at 5:08 PM EST|Updated: Nov. 7, 2023 at 11:32 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

PIKEVILLE, Ky. (WYMT) - Voters in Pike County approved to return to magistrates.

Before the vote, the county had a commissioner-based body, which has three commissioners and a judge/executive.

Those three are:

  • Commissioner Ronald Scott of District One
  • Commissioner Clinard Adkins of District Two
  • Commissioner Orville Blackburn of District Three

The Pike County Judge/Executive is Ray Jones II.

One voter talked about what he thinks a shift would mean.

“Well, if you go back to the magistrate’s form of government, you’d have six,” Pike County native Terry Smith said. “They have four now. So, you would have more of a local representation. You would be more able to get something done faster because it would be a smaller form of government.”

Smith also discussed how he believes it could impact people who live in smaller, surrounding communities in Pike County.

“I think that Pikeville has kind of its own government to itself, but the further out you get, the more inclined it might be you want a magistrate kind because it’s localized,” Smith said. “So, it’s kind of got its pros and cons either way.”

8,352 voters voted in favor of magistrates while 2,940 voted against it.

Weekday broadcast of WYMT Mountain News First at Four