Lawrence County takes 15th Region in Wedensday’s soccer action

Weekday broadcast of WYMT Mountain News at 11
Published: Oct. 13, 2021 at 11:21 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

PAINTSVILLE, Ky. (WYMT) - In only their fourth season as a program, the Lawrence County Bulldogs will be going to the KHSAA Boys’ State Soccer Tournament.

Lawrence County defeated Prestonsburg 2-0 in the 15th Region Championship, to win their first region title in program history.

First Team: Matt Burchett - Prestonsburg Sr.-- *Player of the Year, Luke Johnson - Lawrence County Sr. Dylan Moore – Prestonsburg Sr. Isaiah Collins - Prestonsburg Sr. Blake Maynard - Lawrence County So. Reece Merrill - Martin County Sr. Ben Burchett - Prestonsburg Sr. Sawyer Crum - Johnson Central Jr. Isaiah Zuidema - Martin County Sr. Bobby Hale - Martin County Sr. Braydon Staniford - Johnson Central So. Trenton Adkins GK - Lawrence County Sr. Second Team: Logan Southers - Lawrence County Jr. Daniel Amador - Prestonsburg So. Gabriel Johnson - Johnson Central Sr. Austin Buchanan – Prestonsburg Sr. Trey Hancock – Pikeville Jr. Jestin Barker - Martin County Sr. Shaun Arms - Johnson Central Jr. Andrew Vinson - Lawrence County Fr. Jasper McCoy – Belfry Sr. Ashton Miller – Paintsville Jr. Dylan Pugh - Paintsville Sr. Goalkeeper - Ryan Rankin - Prestonsburg Sr. Honorable Mention Tyler Slone – Belfry Sr. Gideon Ireson – Belfry Sr. Tate Cox - Johnson Central Jr. Willie Castle - Johnson Central Jr. Brian Nelson - Lawrence County Sr. Matthew Clevenger - Lawrence County Jr. Logan Cline - Martin County Sr. Caleb Horn - Martin County Fr. Ethan Adams – Paintsville Sr. Brayden Branham – Paintsville Sr. Jacob Rogers – Pikeville So. Bryson Collins – Pikeville So. Jayden Porter - Prestonsburg Max Willoughby - Prestonsburg

The Bulldogs will play the winner of Boyle County vs. Somerset in the first round of the state tournament.

Copyright 2021 WYMT. All rights reserved.