Kentucky Department of Education awards 2022 Kentucky Teachers of the Year

A widespread internet outage Wednesday morning affected Kentucky schools and KDE offices.
A widespread internet outage Wednesday morning affected Kentucky schools and KDE offices.(Kentucky Department of Education)
Published: Sep. 9, 2021 at 11:51 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WYMT) - The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) streamed the 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year ceremony Thursday afternoon. Winners of the elementary, middle, and high school Teacher of the Year awards, in addition to the overall 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year, were announced during the virtual ceremony.

You can watch the video below:

Governor Andy Beshear, Lieutenant Governor Jacqueline Coleman, Valvoline Chief Executive Officer Sam Mitchell, and Commissioner of Education and Chief Learner Jason E. Glass, Ed.D made the announcements.

The semifinalists for Elementary Teacher of the Year are:

Kandi Dawson, Murray Elementary (Murray Independent)

Cindy Hundley, Gutermuth Elementary (Jefferson County)

Miranda Newland, Campbell Elementary (Raceland-Worthington Independent)

Ashley Ritchie, Beechwood Elementary (Beechwood Independent)


The middle school semifinalists are:

Hallie Booth, Ballyshannon Middle (Boone County)

Jason Hand, Stuart Academy (Jefferson County)

Morgan Preston, Corbin Middle (Corbin Independent)


In the high school category, the semifinalists are:

Jodie Carnes, Lynn Camp School (Knox County)

Willie Edward Taylor Carver Jr., Montgomery County High

Jennifer Sims, Hart County High

Valvoline presented the 24 recipients of the Teacher Achievement Award with a cash award and certificate. The three Kentucky Teachers of the Year also received custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this is the second time KDE held the ceremony virtually.

Copyright 2021 WYMT. All rights reserved.